Library - Stocks & Investing Pathfinder

Introduction

This pathfinder was originally designed to assist in a presentation concerning researching stocks and investments on the Internet for the Rainyday Ladies Investment Club, but is available to anyone who is interested in investing and finance.  The information presented here is a composite view of what is available in the Blue Ridge Community College Library and on the Internet at large.  These listings are by no means exhaustive.

Disclaimer: Many of the sites listed require personal registration and/or a fee to access certain features, however an emphasis was placed on the "most popular" sites that offer some free services.  Listing here is by no means an endorsement of the services provided by any particular online service and users of this pathfinder are strongly encouraged to research any site before registering for services with that company.  Blue Ridge Community College assumes no responsibility for any transaction that may occur between you and the companies listed herein.

Library of Congress Subject Headings

Library of Congress, Office for Subject Cataloging Policy. Library of Congress Subject Headings. 20th ed. Washington: Cataloging Distributing Service, Library of Congress, 1997.

Although keyword searching is extremely popular in electronic catalogs and databases, it can be inexact.  When searching for resources on a topic, subject headings can be extremely useful in locating relevant material and even for developing a vocabulary for more effective keyword searching.  LCSH is the most widely used set of subject headings.  The subject headings listed here are just a sample.  Refer to a copy of LCSH in print for complete listings.  After looking over the Subject Headings you may want to Search the Library Catalog for relevant material.

Listing Key

Bold term

 = 

Main entry for a Subject Heading, these are the terms used by library catalogs.
Example: Automobiles

Bold term

 = 

Subject Heaing subdivision.
Example: Automobiles — Motors

UF

 = 

"Used For" terms are unused terms that the Subject Heading describes.

BT

 = 

"Broader Terms" are other Subject Headings that are more general.

RT

 = 

"Related Terms" are other Subject Headings that are somehow related, but not more general or specific.

NT

 = 

"Narrower Terms" are other Subject Headings that are more specific.

Subject Headings for Stocks & Investing

Investment analysis

   

 UF 

Security analysis

 

 BT 

Investments

 

Securities

 

 NT 

Option-adjusted spread analysis

 

Portfolio management

 

Computer programs

Investment clubs  (May Subd Geog)

 

 RT 

Mutual Funds

Investment tax credit  (May Subd Geog)

 

 BT 

Capital investments

 

 

Depreciation allowances

 

 

Tax Credits

 

 NT 

Rehabilitation investment tax credit

 

Accounting  (May Subd Geog)

 

NT

Flow-through method (Accounting)

 

Law and legislation  (May Subd Geog)

Investments  (May Subd Geog)

   

 UF 

Portfolio

 

 BT 

Finance

 

 RT 

Disinvestment

 

 

Loans

 

 

Saving and investment

 

 

Saving and thrift

 

 

Speculation

 

(Selected narrower terms)

 

 NT 

Annuities

 

 

Asset allocations

 

 

Capital investments

 

 

Cooperative societies—investment

 

 

Credit unions—investments

 

 

Financial institutions—investments

 

 

Futures

 

 

Horse race betting as an investment

 

 

Investment analysis

 

 

Investments, Foreign

 

 

Jouissance shares

 

 

Legal investments

 

 

Metals as an investment

 

 

Mutual funds

 

 

Options (Finance)

 

 

Pension trusts—investments

 

 

Portfolio management

 

 

Prospectus writing

 

 

Real estate investment

 

 

Securities

 

 

Tax lien certificates

 

 

Venture capital

 

Effect of inflation on  (May Subd Geog)

 

BT

Inflation (Finance)

 

Law and legislation  (May Subd Geog)

 

Mathematical models

 

NT

Capital assets pricing model

 

Mathematics

 

UF

Mathematics of investment

 

BT

Business mathematics

 

Taxation  (May Subd Geog)

 

NT

Capital gains tax

 

 

Tax shelters

 

— — Law and legislation  (May Subd Geog)

Stock certificates  (May Subd Geog)

   

 UF 

Certificates of share

 

Certificates of stock

 

Share certificates

 

 BT 

Commercial documents

 

Stocks

 

 RT 

Interim certificates

 

 NT 

American depository receipts

Stock companies  (May Subd Geog)

   

 UF 

Stock companies

 

Joint-stock companies

 

 BT 

Stocks

 

 RT 

Corporations

 

 

Partnership

 

 NT 

Limited partnership

 

 

Massachusetts trust

 

Finance

 

Taxation  (May Subd Geog)

Stock exchanges  (May Subd Geog)

   

 UF 

Bear markets

 

Bull markets

 

Commercial corners

 

Equity markets

 

Exchanges, securities

 

Exchanges, stock

 

Securities exchanges

 

Stock-exchange [Former heading]

 

Stock market

 

 BT 

Markets

 

 RT 

Efficient market theory

 

 

Speculation

 

Data processing

 

NT

NASDAQ Market System

 

Law and legislation  (May Subd Geog)

 

BT

Trade regulations

 

— — Criminal provisions

 

New York (State)

 

NT

Wall Street

 

— — New York

 

United States

Stock funds  (May Subd Geog)

   

 UF 

Stock mutual funds

 

 BT 

Mutual funds

Stock index futures  (May Subd Geog)

 

 BT 

Financial futures

 

Speculation

 

Stocks

Stock options  (May Subd Geog)

   

 UF 

Options, Stock

 

 BT 

Options (Finance)

 

 NT 

Employee stock options

 

Law and legislation  (May Subd Geog)

 

Taxation  (May Subd Geog)

 

— — Law and legislation  (May Subd Geog)

Stock ownership  (May Subd Geog)

   

 UF 

Corporate ownership

 

Corporations—Ownership

 

Ownership of stock

 

 BT 

left"> Property

 

 SA 

subdivision Ownership under types of industries, e.g. Construction industry—Ownership

 

 NT 

Employee ownership

 

Law and legislation  (May Subd Geog)

 

BT

Corporation law

Stock price forecasting  (May Subd Geog)

   

 UF 

Forecasting, Stock price

 

Security price forecasting

 

Stock—Prices—Forecasting

 

 BT 

Business forecasting

Stock price indexes  (May Subd Geog)

   

 UF 

Averages, Stock

 

Indexes, Stock

 

Stock averages

 

Stock indexes

 

 BT 

Price indexes

 

 NT 

Dow Jones industrial average

 

Data dictionaries

 

BT

Data dictionaries

Stock purchase agreements (Close corporations)  (May Subd Geog)

 

 BT 

Close corporations

 

 

Sales

 

 

Stocks

Stock quotations  (May Subd Geog)

   

 UF 

Quotations, Stock

 

 BT 

Financial quotations

 

 

Stocks—Prices

Stocks  (May Subd Geog)

   

 UF 

Common shares

 

Common stocks

 

Equities

 

Equity capital

 

Equity financing

 

Shares of stock

 

Stock issues

 

Stock offerings

 

Stock trading

 

Trading, Stock

 

 BT 

Securities

 

 RT 

Bonds

 

Corporations

 

Going public (Securities)

 

Stock repurchasing

 

Stockholders

 

 NT 

Bank stocks

 

Block trading

 

Capital stock

 

Dividends

 

Insurance stocks

 

Margins (Security trading)

 

No-par-value stocks

 

Penny stocks

 

Preferred stocks

 

Small capitalization stocks

 

Stock certificates

 

Stock companies

 

Stock index futures

 

Stock purchase agreements (Close companies)

 

Stock splitting

 

Stock warrants

 

Stockholders' pre-emptive rights

 

Tender offers (Securities)

 

Charts, diagrams, etc.

 

— — Computer programs

 

Law and legislation  (May Subd Geog)

 

BT

Corporation law

 

NT

Stock pre-emptive rights

 

Prices  (May Subd Geog)

 

UF

Stock prices

 

NT

Capital appreciation

 

 

Price-earnings ration

 

 

Stock quotations

 

— — Databases

 

NT

NASDAQ Market System

 

Taxation  (May Subd Geog)

 

— — Law and legislation  (May Subd Geog)

Search the Library Catalog   [open window]

Library of Congress Call Numbers

The BRCC Library uses the Library of Congress Classification system to determine call numbers for most materials.  Knowing these call number areas may be helpful should you decide to browse the shelves for interesting material about your subject.

Class H - Social Sciences
 
Subclass HD - Industries.  Land Use.  Labor
HD 2709-2930.7     Corporations.  Cartels.  Trusts

Subclass HG - Finance
HG 179             Personal finance
HG 1723           Bank stocks.  Banking as an investment
HG 4501-6051   Investment, capital formation, speculation
HG 4530           Investment companies.  Mutual funds
HG 4538           Foreign investments
HG 4551-4598   Stock exchanges
HG 4621           Stock brokerage.  Investment advisors
HG 4701-4751   By region or country
HG 6001-6051   Speculation

A more complete outline of the LCCS is available from:
Cataloging Policy and Support Office.
Library of Congress Classification Outline. Available [Online]: <http://www.loc.gov/catdir/cpso/lcco/lcco.html>. [30 October 2006].

Directories

Ref HG 4057 .A217 (5 vol.)
Directory of Corporate Affiliations. New Providence, NJ : National Register Publishing, 1973- . Annual.
One of the most cross-referenced directories available.  The first two volumes comprise the Master Index which is broken into six indices:  Company Name, Brand Name, U.S. Geographic, Non-U.S. Geographic, SIC, and Corporate Responsibilities.  The listings for Public, Private and International Companies are in Volumes 3-5 respectively.  Listing are brief covering the basic contact info, ticker(market), Sales, Assets, Liabilities, Net Worth, Earnings, Fiscal Year-End date, a brief description, SIC, top Personnel and other officers, divisions and subsidiaries.

Ref HG 4057 .S8 2001 (3 vol.)
Standard & Poor's Register of Corporations, Directors and Executives. New York : McGraw-Hill, 1928- . Annual.
Includes listing of over 75,000 corporations, 389,000 executives and 71,000 biographical sketches of top-level managers.  Volume 1 lists corporations alphabetically including contact info, names and titles of top officers, primary accounting, banking, and law firms, stock exchange(s), ticker symbol, SIC codes, annuals sales, no. of employees, and cross-referencing of subsidiaries and parent companies.  Volume 2 lists the executives and Volume 3 contains seven color-coded indices.

Internet Directories

About - Money. Available [Online]: <http://www.about.com/money/>. [7 November 2000].
About provides a subject directory on a variety of topics, as well as, independent articles and features.  Although it is a commercial site, supported primarily by banner ads, they do use a screening process to find the best indexers (guides) possible.  Only 25% of applicants are accepted.

Librarians' Internet Index. Librarians' Internet Index.. Available [Online]: <http://www.lii.org/>. [30 October 2006].
This directory, begun by the Berkeley (CA) Public Library and maintained by librarians from all over California, provides links to the best and most trusted sites on the Web.  Follow the path Business > Finance > Personal Finance.

Moss, Rita. Business & Economic Resources, Reference Department, Davis Library. Available [Online]: <http://www.lib.unc.edu/reference/busecon/>. [30 October 2006].
This directory is maintained by the Business and Economics Librarian at UNC-Chapel Hill.  She also teaches the NC LIVE Business Resources workshops across the state.

Dictionaries

Ref HG 151 .D69 1985
Downes, John and Jordan Elliot Goodman. Dictionary of Finance and Investment Terms. Woodbury, NY : Barron's, 1985.
Not for the novice.  Definitions go into moderate detail and often include other specialized terms making this dictionary more suited to an experienced investor.

Ref HG 151 .M8 1991
Munn, Glenn G., F.L. Garcia and Charles J. Woelfel. Encyclopedia of Banking & Finance. 9th ed. Rolling Meadows, IL : Bankers Publishing, 1991.
Although this book does contain some longer articles it is more properly listed as a dictionary due to a majority of short articles and lack of an index.  Most definitions are wordy, but fairly free of jargon.

HG 4513 .P47 1983
Pessin, Allan H. and Joseph A. Ross. Words of Wall Street : 2000 Investment Terms Defined. Homewood, IL : Dow Jones-Irwin, 1983.
Definitions are short, direct, and in plain English, making this a great resource for the beginner.

Ref HG 4513 .S37 1988
Scott, David L. Wall Street Words. Boston : Houghton Mifflin, 1988.
3,600 no-nonsense definitions in plain, everyday English with:  case histories explaining terms in action, investment tips from experts, charts, graphs, and a selected bibliography.

Equade Internet. Investopedia.com - The Investing Education Site. Available [Online]: <http://www.investopedia.com/>. [7 November 2001].
Searchable and browsable database presenting definitions for terms used in the field of finance and investment.  Arranged by category, subject headings include acronyms, bonds, options and futures, stock trading, and world financial markets.  Also offers a collection of articles and tutorials on related topics.

Harvey, Campbell J. Bloomberg.com: Finanacial Glossary. Available [Online]: <http://www.bloomberg.com/invest/glossary/bfglosa.htm>. [30 October 2006].
This glossary includes "over 8,000 entries with 18,000 links."  The compiler, Campbell J. Harvey is the J. Paul Sticht Professor of International Business at the Fuqua School of Business, Duke University.

Webfinance, Inc. InvestorWords - Investing Glossary. Available [Online]: <http://www.investorwords.com/>. [7 November 2001].
"InvestorWords provides definitions for over 5,000 financial terms and includes 15,000 links between related terms."  Terms can be found using either of two point-and-click menus, one alphabetical and one topical; or, by using a Search feature.

Encyclopedias

Ref HG 151 .N48 1992 (v.1-3)
Peter Newman, et al., eds. The New Palgrave Dictionary of Money & Finance. London : Macmillan Press ; New York : Stockton Press, 1992.
Despite the title, this is an encyclopedia that provides in-depth articles, generally written in everyday English.  Some articles, however, or not properly prefaced for the investing novice.

Investor Education

HG 4515.9 .M67 2000
Moreau, Daniel and Tracey Longo. Getting Started in Financial Information. New York : John Wiley & Sons, 2000.
Learn how to locate, interpret, and profitably apply all the important information you need to achieve your financial objectives.  Learn how to recognized the difference between opinion and real news, research effectively in all media types, gauge the values of online services, read between the lines in annual reports, and much more. 

HG 4521 .B444 1993
Bernstein, Jake. The Investor's Quotient : The Psychology of Successful Investing in Commodities & Stocks. 2nd ed. New York : John Wiley & Sons, 1993.
"Turn here for all the rules and guidelines of...psychology trading techniques...models of successful traders to emulate...techniques that sharpen and make your perceptions of other and situations more reliable...tips of scheduling, self-discipline, and developing a positive attitude...."

HG 4521 .H23 1995
Jobman, Darrell R., ed. The Handbook of Technical Analysis : A Comprehensive Guide to Analytical Methods, Trading System and Technical Indicators. Burr Bridge, IL : Irwin, 1995.
This book teaches how to analyze the technical data generated by the market and use it to predict performance.  A wide variety of techniques are discussed, traditional and otherwise.

HG 4521 .L864 1990
Lynch, Peter. One Up on Wall Street : How to use what you already know to make money in the market. New York : Penguin, 1989.
"Lynch shows that for the average investor, the key to making money in the stock market is sticking with what you know.  Instead of investing in a high-tech organization you read about in the press, look around you."

HG 4521 .P55 1983
Pike, William H. Why Stocks Go Up (and down) : A Guide to Sound Investing. Homewood, IL : Dow Jones-Irwin, 1983.
"Presuming the trader has no background in stock market investing, the book presents, with unusual clarity, the basics of financial statements, public offerings, price/earnings ratios and more."

HG 4521 .T6
Tobias, Andrew. The Only Investment Guide You'll Ever Need. New York : Harcourt Brace Jovanovich, 1978.
"...an inspiring, informative, and entertaining look at the best uses of your money, no matter how much or how little you have."

HG 4521 .W5123 1993
Williamson, Gordon K. Low Risk Investing : How to get a good return on your money without loosing any sleep. Holbrook, MA : Bob Adams, 1993.
Williamson investigates investment opportunities, breaking it down by types, and discusses each one assessing the risks and benefits as well as plainly covering types to avoid all together.

HG 4527 .W35 1993
Wallace, Beatson. Learning to Invest : A Beginner's Guide to Building Personal Wealth. Old Saybrook, CN : The Globe Pequot Press, 1993.
Wallace covers the basics and leads the reader through the myriad of terminology to a solid foundation of knowledge about securities, stocks, options, bonds mutual funds, futures, CDs, and much more.  She covers how to interpret the fluctuations in the markets, read the newspaper's stock pages, organize financial records, invest for retirement, and when to use a broker and when to go it alone.

HG 4529 .T34 1993
Tainer, Evelina M. Using Economic Indicators to Improve Investment Analysis. New York : Wiley & Sons, 1993.
This book explains, in jargon free terms, how to interpret the wide array of economic indicators that drive the market, and how to make sense of the strange reaction the market often had to "good" news.

HG 4530 .H335 2000
Hall, Alvin D. Getting Started in Mutual Funds. New York : Wiley & Sons, 2000.
Written by one of Wall Street's most respected educators, this book will acquaint you with the various types of mutual funds and how they are structured, and cover important terminology and ideas.  Learn how to:  understand a fund's prospectus, assess a fund manager's investment style, evaluate fees and expenses, evaluate risk, calculate return, and manage your funds.

HG 4530 .L32 1997
HG 4930 .B872 1998
Laderman, Jeffrey M. Business Week Guide to Mutual Funds. 7th Annual ed. New York : MacGraw-Hill, 1997.
Although much of the information about specific funds in the book is dated, much of the advice about wise investing and risk can be applied regardless of the market.

HG 4530 .U68 1992
Upton, Robert C., Jr. Mutual Funds Explained : The Basics and Beyond. (The Investor's Quick Reference) Chicago, IL : Probus, 1991.
Upton begins with defining goals and objectives and walks the reader through the entire process of mutual fund investment.

HG 4577 .B37 1993
Bertrand, Marsha. The Consumer Guide to the Stock Market. Irvine, CA : United Resource, 1993.
Though a bit out of logical sequence, this book guides one though the process of getting started in the stock market.  Bertrand covers hot to check out a broker, check company affiliations, by stocks directly, read between the lines in a company's literature, track "insider" information, and diversify.

HG 4651 .T48 1992
Thau, Annette. The Bond Book : Everything investors need to know about treasuries, municipals, GNMAs, corporates, zeros, bond funds, money market funds, and more. Chicago, IL : Probus, 1992.
"The Bond Book assumes little or no knowledge of any bond investment - it explains all the critical information required to buy these securities.  ...Thau explains in detail the risks that underlie the purchase of bonds, defines areas of opportunity and describes how to obtain information necessary for investment decisions."

HG 4661 .C328 1995
Carlson, Charles B. No-Load Stocks : How to buy your first share and every share directly from the Company—with not broker's fee. New York : McGraw-Hill, 1995.
The subtitle says it all.

HG 4661 .F337 1995
Faerber, Esmé. All About Stocks : From the Inside Out. Chicago, IL : Probus, 1995.
Covers "every aspect of stock investing, from understanding the basic strategies to managing a stock portfolio, this book is a roadmap for successful investing.

HG 4661 .G64 1989
Gold, Max. Super Investing for Ultra Conservatives. 2nd ed. Carson City, NV : ISMAT ARA, 1989.
"This is a no-nonsense book which exposes traps and pitfalls set for small investors.  It tells you why small investors continuously lose money in stocks using conventional methods.  It also tells you how you can start making money using almost fool-proof methods."

HG 4921 .V84 1995
Vujovich, Dian. Straight Talk About Investing for Your Retirement. New York : McGraw-Hill, 1995.
"...this easy-to-follow guide will provide you with:  investment ideas that are right for your age, economic condition, lifestyle, and projected needs; case studies that show how people in different financial circumstances...are managing and investing their retirement money; different investment strategies for different age groups..."; and more.

HG 6041 .S58 1995
Slatter, John. Straight Talk About Stock Investing. New York : McGraw-Hill, 1995.
"...minimize risks, maximize returns, and beat the market."  Slatter "shows you:  why common stocks are superior to CDs and bonds, why mutual funds are overated, how to assess your goals and develop a portfolio that meets them, how to mine...for key facts and nuggets of data, how to profit from market sectors that other investors often ignore."

Equade Internet. Investopedia.com - The Investing Education Site. Available [Online]: <http://www.investopedia.com/>. [7 November 2001].
Searchable and browsable database presenting definitions for terms used in the field of finance and investment.  Arranged by category, subject headings include acronyms, bonds, options and futures, stock trading, and world financial markets.  Also offers a collection of articles and tutorials on related topics.

The Motley Fool. Fool.com: Fool's School. Available [Online]: <http://www.fool.com/school.htm>. [8 November 2001].
Fool's School is a part of David and Tom Gardner's Fool.com, the Web site with a different take on investment and finance.  Although educational opportunities permeate the Web site, the School is a great place to get the basics with a bare bones, down to the nitty-gritty facts.

WebFinance, Inc. InvestorGuide.com - University. Available [Online]: <http://www.investorguide.com/university.cgi>. [30 October 2006].
The "University" is one aspect of the more comprehensive InvestorGuide.com.  It includes educational information regarding investments and personal finance and uses listings from WebFinances' InvestorWords, a comprehensive investment glossary.

Research - Companies, Stocks, etc.

Ref HG 4057 .A4758 2000
Standard & Poor's 500 Guide. New York : McGraw-Hill, 1994- . Annual.
Information about the 500 companies that make up the S&P 500 Composite Index, a benchmark of stock market performance.  This book provides a two-page snapshot of a company, including basic business and industry information, recent developments, current outlook, and financial information relating to revenues, earnings, dividends, margins, capitalization, etc.

Ref HG 4501 .M59 (located on Index tables)
Handbook of Common Stocks. New York : Mergent, 1965- . Quarterly.
(Formerly Moody's Handbook of Common Stocks)
The Handbook provides basic business and financial information on more than 950 stocks of high interest to investors.  Price charts, statistics, and analysis are presented in a brief format and a tabbed section provides one-line information on NYSE companies not covered in a full page.

Ref HG 4915 .S6525 2000
Standard & Poor's MidCap 400 Guide. New York : McGraw-Hill, 1994- . Annual.
In the same vein as the S&P 500 Guide above, this source provides the same type of data on the companies which comprise the S&P MidCap 400 Index.

Ref HG 4915 .S654 2000
Standard & Poor's SmallCap 600 Guide. New York : McGraw-Hill, 1995- . Annual.
In the same vein as the S&P 500 Guide above, this source provides the same type of data on the companies which comprise the S&P SmallCap 600 Index.

Bloomberg L.P. Bloomberg.com financial markets commodities news. Available [Online]: <http://www.bloomberg.com/>. [9 November 2001].
Many Bloomberg publications, including feature articles from Bloomberg Personal, a News section that includes top daily headline stories from papers around the world; mutual fund; stocks; etc., can be accessed without charge.  Includes a version of Campbell Harvey's Finance Glossary .  Special financial services such as company news, online portfolio management, and current quotes are sold to investors on a subscription basis.

Investor Home. Available [Online]: <http://www.investorhome.com/>. [9 November 2001].
It may not be as pretty as other sites on the Web, but Investor Home does provide services, which can be found by using the "Contents" button.  If it has anything to do with investment you can find it on the menu.  Right at the top of the home page is a table of Quick Links to the most popular investment sites on the Web.

MarketWatch, Inc. BigCharts. Available [Online]: <http://bigcharts.marketwatch.com/>. [9 November 2001].
"BigCharts is the world's most comprehensive and easy-to-use investment research web site providing access to professional-level research tools like interactive charts, quotes, industry analysis, intraday stock screeners, as well as market news & commentary.  We combine these tools with an interface that incorporates compelling graphics and intuitive navigation to make your research experience productive, yet entertaining and fun.  Best of all, BigCharts is a FREE service supported entirely by our site sponsors."

MarketWatch, Inc. MarketWatch. Available [Online]: <http://www.marketwatch.com/>. [30 October 2006].
MarketWatch is a leader among the full service portals with original news, market data and monitoring tools, and portfolio tracking.  The site also includes news and reports from top analysts and commentators.

Morningstar.com. Available [Online]: <http://www.morningstar.com/>. [9 November 2001].
Morningstar is the leading independent source of mutual fund information.  It provides data on more than 10,000 mutual funds, 8,000 stocks, and 5,000 variable annuity/life subaccounts, but mutual funds are Morningstar's main stock and trade.  Using performance history and proprietary formulas, mutual funds are given a five star rating system, five stars being a top performer and one star being in the bottom ten percent.  Always bear in mind that the ratings are based on performance history.

The Motley Fool. Fool.com. Available [Online]: <http://www.fool.com/>. [9 November 2001].
David and Tom Gardner are young, brash and eager to help anyone who will listen to succeed in the stock market.  This site is full of advice and helpful information if you can stomache being constantly called a "Fool."  But in their case to be Foolish is a good thing, as they explain in their site intro.

U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission. Available [Online]: <http://www.sec.gov/>. [9 November 2001].
The SEC is the federal agency which governs the markets and trading.  All companies are publicly traded in U.S. markets must file regular reports with the SEC.  These are available online through the EDGAR Database.

WebFinance, Inc. InvestorGuide.com. Available [Online]: <http://www.investorguide.com/>. [9 November 2001].
InvestorGuide's stated mission is to give consumers complete control over their financial future.  IG is divided into several main areas including News and Commentary, Stocks, Other Investments, Personal Finance, and the University.  One can also sign up to receive daily and weekly newsletters by email.  Also, unlike many other sites, almost all of the tools may be used without setting up a user account.

Yahoo! Finance. Available [Online]: <http://finance.yahoo.com/>. [30 October 2006].
Yahoo! offers either a number of services; some require a free account registration while other "premium" services are available for a modest monthly fee ($13.95 at this writing).  These services include all of the standard quotes, data, and charting along with news & commentary from various sources such as Reuters, AP, Business Wire, PrimeZone, PR Newswire, and Motley Fool.

Online Brokers & Trading

Charles Schwab. Available [Online]: <http://www.schwab.com/>. [12 November 2001].

E*TRADE. Available [Online]: <http://us.etrade.com/>. [30 October 2006].

Morgan Stanley. Available [Online]: <http://www.morganstanley.com/>. [30 October 2006].

TD AMERITRADE.. Available [Online]: <http://www.tdameritrade.com/>. [30 October 2006].

The Vanguard Group. Available [Online]: <http://www.vanguard.com/>. [12 November 2001].

Wells Fargo. Available [Online]: <http://www.wellsfargo.com/>. [12 November 2001].

Journals, Magazines, & Trade Publications

Print Indexes for Articles and Documents

Located on Index Tables
Business Periodicals Index. New York : H.W. Wilson; 1958- . Monthly w/ Quarterly & Annual Cumulations.
BPI indexes prominent periodicals in the various business fields including accounting, advertising & marketing, banking, building, communications, computer technology and application, economics, finance and investments, industrial relations, insurance, management, occupational health and safety, real estate, retailing, taxation, transportation, and several other industries.  The titles indexed are selected by subscriber vote.

Databases

See Databases for Business, Accounting, and Finance